A Recap of #KanyeMadness

Hello everyone!

I’m Tom, one of the hosts of the podcast Notable. If you somehow found this website and are not a fan, or you just wanted to read a little background from the episode before jumping into it, I will include some links below for the episode discussed.

Last week, in the second part of our accidental back-to-back two-parter, we went through the Kanye West March Madness Bracket. The bracket was created by Carrington Harrison and he has since done voting on the rounds via the poll function on his Twitter. His champion, which was different than ours, was Runaway. Our bracket actually ended up looking a lot different than what the Twitterverse voted on. We shared only one Final Four pick. For reference, here is the bracket:

Image result for kanye west march madness

So, I want to recap what we chose as our champion before I do a little rundown of some of our personal brackets. As a group, just the three of us, we voted Hey Mama as our champion in a 2-1 vote. Emir was the only dissenting vote shockingly, as his bracket which he created on the fly as we went through, was identical to our general consensus except for the champion. However, I, Tom, have a significantly different taste than Grant and Emir. So, my bracket in particular, looked very different. Part of this is because I’m not a huge Kanye fan, and then on a greater scale I don’t have the same appreciation for rap/hip-hop that Grant and Emir have. That’s not to say that I don’t like it, but I haven’t listened to as much and it certainly is rarely my go-to. My rap tastes may be considered more niche, and just typing that I can hear Emir calling me a hipster. But, because I doubt all of our audience also share Grant or Emir’s taste, we thought it would be fun to add what our picks were with you guys. Some of you may identify with the music tastes of one of us over another.

Now, since Emir didn’t have  a concrete bracket outside of the one we did on the podcast, I will show you what Grant and I chose for our ‘Elite Eight’.

GRANT:

  • Hey Mama
  • Through the Wire
  • All Falls Down
  • Get Em High
  • Jesus Walks
  • Good Morning
  • Touch the Sky
  • Family Business

TOM:

  • Hey Mama
  • Love Lockdown
  • Heartless
  • The Glory
  • Stronger
  • Gold Digger
  • Diamonds from Sierra Leone
  • Homecoming

Just comparing Grant and I’s picks, shows you how different our music tastes are. We shared one Elite Eight pick. Perhaps most appropriately, as Hannah points out in the episode, Hey Mama, the one song Grant (and Emir) and I, had a similar high appreciation for, was the song we had winning it all.

Just for comparison, I’ll share with you what the Twitterverse voted on as their Elite Eight.

TWITTER:

  • Can’t Tell Me Nothing
  • Through the Wire
  • Runaway
  • All of the Lights
  • Jesus Walks
  • Power
  • Touch the Sky
  • N****s in Paris

It’s really interesting to see the divergence from the general Twitter consensus. To share some insight on my picks, I will say that for a lot of the songs in the bracket, my first time ever hearing them was when I made my way through this. While I was definitely not a fan of a fair amount of the songs featured, by the time I hit my Sweet Sixteen and then even moreso as I progressed towards my Championship, I really felt like I had a newfound appreciation for Kanye West. I’m not like his new biggest fan, but I do like him more now. Too often people are quick to judge Kanye for his wild personality and generally odd progression as an artist, and that’s a big put off for a lot of people, including me, but when you hear his music and you listen to the story, it’s a lot different, in many cases, than the image he projects. He’s definitely found a new fan, while not a die hard, but a fan nonetheless. Several of these will make their way to my personal playlist.


Thank you for reading this far. If you want to listen to this episode here are the places you can find it: Soundcloud, Central Michigan Life website, iTunes, and Spotify.

If you have thoughts on what I wrote, or on the episode, or on the podcast in general, you can contact us here or on our Twitter.

And if you want to contact me specifically, Tom, then you can tweet me at my Twitter.

Thank you again, see you next time.

Leave a comment